Minnesota Felony DWI Lawyers > Thomas C Gallagher

Are severe penalties the solution to alcohol-related auto injury accidents?  We have a mountain of evidence that says, no — that isn’t the answer.  (What about better public transit, and free chemical dependency treatment for addicts?)  Apart from the public policy question, though, let’s consider a practical one.

What should be done if you or someone you car for is arrested and charged with a Minnesota Felony DWI?

The Best Defense

The answer is simple.  Find, retain and seek legal counsel from the best attorneys for the case.  Gallagher is one of the best Minnesota Felony DWI Lawyers.  Gallagher knows what to do, and can explain it to you.

To speak with Minneapolis Felony DUI Lawyer Thomas Gallagher, you can call:
 612 333-1500

A relatively new law, the Minnesota Felony DWI Statute is Minnesota Statutes Section 169A.24 “First-degree driving while impaired.”  It provides for a seven-year maximum prison sentence.

The Mandatory Minimum sentencing statute for Minnesota felony DWI convictions is at Minnesota Statutes Section 169A.276 “Mandatory penalties; felony violations.”  It tells a judge to sentence a minimum of three years prison for felony DWI (first-degree).  It does provide for alternatives a judge can order, though these are stringent as well.

martini shadowIssues in Minnesota Felony DWI Defense

Common issues in these cases include avoiding or mitigating:

  • Prison time (as opposed to workhouse or county jail time)
  • Executed workhouse – county jail time
  • Felony Criminal Record
  • Pre-trial release; Bail
  • Car Forfeiture
  • Plate Impoundments(s)
  • Drivers License Revocations, Cancellations; implied consent law and B-Card no-use restrictions

Time is of the Essence — Delay Can Lose Cases

Most people arrested on suspicion of DUI are aware of the court date in the criminal case, but are not aware that the Minnesota drivers license revocation must be challenged in 60 days or less by service and filing in court, a Petition for Judicial Review.

A Minnesota DWI Plate Impoundment must be challenged within 60 days also.

DWI Vehicle Forfeitures are normally administrative and must be challenged within 60 days as specified in the statute.

The Minnesota Supreme Court has ruled that these deadlines are jurisdictional (no exceptions).  Therefore, a person arrested for DWI should seek legal counsel from a good Minnesota DWI lawyer right away. (Do not wait until the court date in the DWI criminal case approaches to do so.  That may be too late.)

Free Consultation

If you are charged with a Minnesota Felony DWI, related license revocation or vehicle forfeiture, and would like to set up a free half-hour consultation, call Thomas C Gallagher.

Minnesota Felony DWI? Call Now: 612 333-1500